Giving Credit for the Thorough Coach/GM Search

I have to say, I am impressed by the thorough nature of the Coach and GM search this time around. The last time we were doing our Coach search, I’d say I was about 80% convinced it was Matt Patricia before the thing even kicked off. This wasn’t rocket science, it just made a ton of sense and most of the board leaned that way as well.

If you had to ask me this time (before the search started), I’d say we would have picked SOME GM, and then offered Saleh or Bieniemy without a lot of searching. I am not a pro, I just lurk on this board a lot and can see some tea leaves. The Lions have tended to make up their minds before the search starts in the past.

It seems like this time, they are ACTUALLY being thorough. MANY GM candidates, with different ties, experience levels, etctera. MANY coaching candidates, from different coach trees, etc.

I appreciate it. Of course, we can’t know if it will work. With our history, the odds aren’t great. BUT. It seems like they are really putting the work in, and hopefully that leads to good results.

I wanted to give some credit to Sheila, Rod Wood, Spielman, whoever is directing this. Because I actually have a little faith in the process.

This is scary for me (having some faith and hope), but what the heck. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me 97,563 times, shame on me. I’m a believer in the process at this point.

10 Likes

She was accurate when she said they would not leave any stone unturned for sure.

1 Like

Please, baby Jesus…let ‘em pick us a winnin’ coach.

4 Likes

1 Like

Agreed. The Lions seem to have talked to a lot of people at this point, a FAR different story than 2016. I found this article from 2016: