Lions Free Agency Plans?

Free Agency starts March 18th and the tampering period starts Monday March 16th. It may be pushed back OR maybe they encourage electronic communication? As I have already stated I see this as the biggest Lions free agency period in many years. Maybe since 2011. The Lions have some cap space but moves will be tough. There are still guys to be brought back. I thought a top ten or so moves for the Lions right about now would be smart and fun. I am a teacher in Williamson County, TN and we have had school cancelled all week so this helps fill the time!

There was a thread about your top two free agents and but I start with the Lions re-signing a few guys of our own so I start there. I have to say that at this point I believe Slay will be traded. If I am wrong that changes my plan drastically. I get NOT trading him so far seems like a red flag but I believe the Lions need Slay gone OR Slay buying in…and I don’t think Slay wants to buy in. I also believe Slay is finding out his market is not what he thought is was and that is complicating signing with another team.

1. Re-sign safety Tavon Wilson. He has been a solid player here and we are better with him than without him. Should be be expensive at all.

2. I commit to back up QB Jeff Driskel and I bring back David Blough as the 3rd string QB. Jeff is 27 in April and David is 24 in July. I thought Jeff flashed potential when he was out there, he would be VERY affordable and he brings wheels with him. We likely cut David and PS him as the #3 guy again.

3. I make sure RB Bo Scarbrough is under contract. I am not sure of his status but we should be able to sign him on the cheap if necessary.

4. I re-sign DT Mike Daniels. Between Mike and Hand we can have that position roughly locked down and these guys should finally each be healthy in 2020. If not Mike…this position will cost BIG bucks to fill.