More fuel to the fire - KJ's fumble

I don’t see anyone mentioning this one, but it’s another VERY suspect call:

3rd & 2 at GB 35
(12:26 - 4th) (No Huddle, Shotgun) M.Stafford pass short right to K.Johnson to GB 30 for 5 yards. FUMBLES, ball out of bounds at GB 26. Green Bay challenged the pass completion ruling, and the play was REVERSED. (No Huddle, Shotgun) M.Stafford pass incomplete short right to K.Johnson.

KJ had the ball, took three steps, and lost control of it when he was tucking it away. A clear catch and fumble. Yet, the call (correct on the field) was overturned, taking away a first down for the Lions. I guarantee that if that ball had stayed inbounds and the Packers recovered and *we * challenged, that call would have stood.


I saw it how they called it. He caught the ball, took 2 steps, rather than tucking it he ran with it carelessly in his right hand. It then appears to me that he squeezed with his right hand and it slipped out, before the 3rd step.

I believe they got the ruling right as an incomplete pass. Calls like that happen every game. I can even understand WHY they called the Walker one. The Flowers ones are the egregious ones.

1 Like