Even the Refs throw the rule book under the bus, taking away a TD from the Bills.
Carter had a brain fart and tossed the ball to the ref, the ref says, “I ain’t touching that”. But a smart Bill did - TD!
The rule clearly states that " it touches a player of the kicking team who has touched the ground on or behind the receiver’s goal line AND has not re- established himself in the field of play. See 11-4-2 for options for missed field goals beyond the 20-yard line." (Rule 9,sec. 1, Art.4, A3)
Emphasis on “AND”, it does say or. Trivial, damn right, but its a rule. Change it the off season. Not say, we know what you meant. This shit just keeps getting worse and worse.
Wish we had this crew in KC when KJ fumbled at the goal and called it dead by saying’ “that’s OK KennyG, we knew you meant to touch him.”